Asian American Studies Program Advisory Committee and Director

Asian American Studies Executive Committee
Asian American Studies Program Associates
Asian American Studies Visiting Professors in Hmong American Studies

 

Asian American Studies Program Advisory Committee – This is the main governance body for the Program and advises the Asian American Studies Executive Committee on all matters. This group has governance responsibilities, decides co-sponsorship and co-funding requests, establishes special committees, participates in hiring decisions, and other program development activities; they are eligible to request professional development funds from the program.

Director

Timothy Yu (web)
Director, Asian American Studies
Associate Professor, English and Asian American Studies
306 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
7137 White Hall, Helen C, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-3818, tpyu@wisc.edu

 

Program Advisory Committee

Alberta Gloria (web)
Professor, Counseling Psychology
335 Education Building, 1000 Bascom Mall, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-2669, agloria@education.wisc.edu

 

Cindy I-Fen Cheng (web)
Associate Professor, History and Asian American Studies
5106 Humanities Bldg, 455 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-2522, cicheng@wisc.edu


Chong Moua
Lecturer, Asian American Studies Program
305 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2976, cmoua3@wisc.edu

Eden Inoway-Ronnie
Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost
157 Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-5975, etinoway@wisc.edu

 

Ella Mae Matsumura (web)
Professor, School of Business
4133D Grainger Hall, 975 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-9731, ematsumura@bus.wisc.edu

 

Hemant Shah (web)
Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication
5002 Vilas Hall, 821 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2928, hgshah@wisc.edu

 

Ian Baird (web)
Assistant Professor, Geography
455 Science Hall, 550 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-0012, ibaird@wisc.edu

 

Jan Miyasaki 
Senior Lecturer, Asian American Studies
304 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 890-3346, jkmiyasa@wisc.edu

 

Joan Fujimura (web)
Professor, Sociology
7101 Sewell Social Sciences, 1180 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-2724, fujimura@ssc.wisc.edu

 

Leslie Bow (web)
Professor, English and Asian American Studies
7179 Helen C White Hall, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 890-2455, lbow@wisc.edu

 

Lillian Tong
Faculty Associate, Center for Biology Education
Room 104B, 445 Henry Mall, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-3003, tong@wisc.edu

 

Lori Kido Lopez (web)
Assistant Professor, Communication Arts
6134 Vilas Communication Hall, 821 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-0069, lklopez@wisc.edu

 

Lynet Uttal

Lynet Uttal (web)
Professor, Counseling Psychology
311 Education Building, 1000 Bascom Mall, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-6889, luttal@wisc.edu

 

Marlys Macken
Professor, Department of Linguistics
1168 Van Hise, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2932, macken@wisc.edu

 

Maya Holtzman
Assistant Director, McNair/SROP programs, Office of Diversity Resources
358 Bascom Hall, 500 Lincoln Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-5517, mholtzman@bascom.wisc.edu

 

Michael Thornton (web)
Professor, Afro-American Studies
4111 White Hall, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-1148, (608) 263-1642, mcthornt@facstaff.wisc.edu

 

Mike Cullinane (web)
Associate Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies
207a Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-1755, 263-9715, mmcullin@wisc.edu

 

Morris Young (web)
Professor, English
6187c White Hall, Helen C, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-3367, msyoung4@wisc.edu

 

Pamela Oliver (web)
Professor, Sociology
8143 Social Science Bldg, 1180 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-6829, (608) 262-2921, oliver@ssc.wisc.edu

 

Peggy Choy (web)
Assistant Professor, Dance and Asian American Studies
125 Lathrop Hall, 1050 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-6674, pachoy@wisc.edu

 

Rodney Horikawa
Community Building Coordinator, University Health Services
Room 8808-4, 333 East Campus Mall, Madison, WI 53715
(608) 263-4536, ryhorikawa@wisc.edu

 

Stacey Lee (web)
Professor, Educational Policy Studies, School of Education
209 Education Building, 1000 Bascom Mall, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-6846, (608) 265-5956, slee@education.wisc.edu

 

Timothy Yu (web)
Director, Asian American Studies
Associate Professor, English and Asian American Studies
306 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
7137 White Hall, Helen C, 600 N Park St, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-3818, tpyu@wisc.edu

 

Victor Jew
Senior Lecturer, Asian American Studies
304 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Dr, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 890-3346, vjew@wisc.edu

Yang Sao Xiong
Assistant Professor, Social Work and Asian American Studies
314 Social Work, 1350 University Ave, Madison, WI 53706
302 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-6338, ysxiong2@wisc.edu

 

Yer Taylor
Program Administrator, Asian American Studies
303 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2976, asianamerican@letsci.wisc.edu